Letters 3 through 11 and my mood

Standard

letter 3 023 026 002 005 iphone 002 iphone 006Today was not the first day I thought – “Oh, I need to write my letter and I’m tired and I don’t want to write a letter.” A few of the letters I have written this week have been short. I used postcards of artwork from the fabulous Joshua Coffy, so that gave me a good reason to make the letters a bit more concise. Those of you that know me, know that brevity is not a strong point for me. Forcing myself to narrow the thoughts so much did help me focus and get the letter written.

Josh has told me not to worry about doing it every day, and I even thought “I can’t mail letters on Sunday, so I COULD write my Saturday letter on Sunday,” but I’m afraid if I give myself an excuse this early in the process I’ll give up and I don’t want to give up.

I’m starting to hear back from people who have received letters, through phone calls or messages- no return letters yet, though a few have promised. Honestly, Some days I feel like I will not have enough people to write to, so any letters back will get you in the rotation for a second one, hopefully with some more artwork.

I’ve been in kind of a funk since Thursday. I’m worried about a work situation and what it means for me down the road and that’s draining a lot of my energy. Tonight’s letter turned out to be some good therapy. I wrote to someone I have not seen in a while, but someone I could always vent to without fear of judgment or repercussion.

I’m excited that I have kept this going strong and I hope to get the kickstarter going by the end of the month. I only have a few stamps left and I’m going to have to break down and buy some. I did find a book over the Christmas break and the last time I went to the post office I found 6 stamps someone had printed and left behind, so I took it as a sign that this project was destined to happen.

Letter 3 – HS Friend/amazing artist Josh
Letter 4 – Mom
Letter 5 – Friend undergoing gender transition
Letter 6 – HS friend with admirable spirit
Letter 7 – Friend that move across country
Letter 8 – Former co-worker with great style and humor
Letter 9 – Friends in a new home
Letter 10 – Super creative friend I admire
Letter 11 – Former co-worker I haven’t seen in years

Leave a Reply

