Letter 2 – To my Father

Standard
UCF card and letter to my father.

UCF card and letter to my father.

I felt it important to write this letter early in the project, but knew it was going to be tough to write. I cried. A lot. Those of you who know me, know that my dad hasn’t been in the best health for the past few years. We thought we were going to lose him several times and once even got the 2AM call that we needed to get to the hospital. I don’t know how many of you have received a call like that, but if you have, you know how terrifying it can be. Somehow, he keeps on chugging along. As a result, he has gotten to know his grandchildren and at least Jack has gotten to know him. Alex is too little to understand much of what’s going on, but through the magic of the internet, the videos of my little maniacs have made my Dad laugh and smile. But still, the power of the written word encouraged me to write to him.

I will probably not blog every day and may be inclined to summarize a week’s worth of letter just for the sake of simplicity, but wanted to get the thoughts out for today’s letter. I also don’t think I really want letter recipients to know when they are receiving a letter. Part of my excitement in the project is knowing what joy that surprise in the mailbox can bring. In the early days of the project, I know the letters will be emotional and probably warrant posting, but I already know many of the people following this project will get letter and I don’t want to spoil the moment.

If you are reading this and would like to receive a letter, just drop me a line with your snail mail address. I’ll do my best to not send any actual snails.

One thought on “Letter 2 – To my Father

Leave a Reply

